The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It Reviews

The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It

The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It

List Price: $ 19.95

Price: $ 10.96

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living

How to Stop Worrying and Start Living

  • Great product!

“Those who don’t know how to fight worry, die young.” This ominous advice begins Dale Carnegie’s bestseller, How to Stop Worrying and Start Living, an eight-part treatise on the follies of worrying. Like other Carnegie books, this one is packed with good old-fashioned common sense, illustrated with examples drawn from research on historical figures and interviews with business leaders. Somehow, even the most simple advice–such as Carnegie’s four-step method of problem solving–is presented in a

List Price: $ 7.99

Price: $ 4.49

Find More Anxiety Self Help Products

6 thoughts on “The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It Reviews

  • October 16, 2016 at 7:21 am
    Permalink
    365 of 373 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Entertaining AND Life Changing!, March 23, 2010
    By 
    Carly (Canada) –

    This review is from: The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It (Paperback)
    I’ve had super-strong anxiety all my life, on and off with depression. Everybody knows the best way to help yourself permanently is a combination of medicine and behaviour modification, so after years of only doing the former, I set out to find the best information to tackle the latter.

    I looked at a million books online and in the library, bought a few, but by miles this is the best one of the lot. If you can only buy ONE book in your life to help you, make it this one.

    It is a fascinating read from beginning to end. I came to it not really caring why or how my brain was making me anxious- I just knew I wanted to stop how I was feeling. In fact, the most interesting part of the book is explaing how and why your brain causes your anxiety. Far from being a dry medical monologue of terminology and bio-chemistry, the information and the way it was presented was more like watching a fascinating documentry on Discovery Health. The information is solid and presented in a passionate and entertaining way (without dumbing anything down either, I might add) which says something for the author’s talent and style. I found myself smiling or chuckling sometimes when she’d explain a concept and why it works, and while I’m turning the page my brain is yelping, “Yeah, but so what! What if x, y or z is happening to you, then it’s not going to work is it!?” only to read on the next page when she continues that she’s ALREADY thought of my secret protestation, and goes on to shoot it down with logic and facts. Very funny!

    This isn’t a top 10 list like an extended Oprah magazine article, nor is it a finger wagging book telling you things like if you are feeling anxious to go write in your gratitude journal or take a bubble bath and give yourself affirmations in a mirror. These are very real, true ways that work with how a human brain naturally works itself: you are teaching yourself ways to override the chunk of your brain that is causing the anxiety response with another physical area of your brain that will control another action- your brain simply is not built to do both styles of things at once. You are forcing it by will to complete another task so it is unable to fire out those messages of anxiety. It really is an unbelievable read. After being this way my entire life from childhood to adulthood, I can say that after putting these techniques into practise that I am not that same person anymore, my life has improved dramatically and I am happier, more calm, less prone to depression and all-around a healthier person. Just buy the book. It is impossible that you won’t find it helpful, yourself.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • October 16, 2016 at 8:03 am
    Permalink
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    VERY HELPFUL BOOK, August 3, 2016
    By 
    SCW gal

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The 10 Best-Ever Anxiety Management Techniques: Understanding How Your Brain Makes You Anxious and What You Can Do to Change It (Paperback)
    Excellent writer with very practical and useful ideas. She understands anxiety very well.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • October 16, 2016 at 8:45 am
    Permalink
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Just read it!!, August 3, 2016
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
    If you suffer from a lot of anxiety, depression, or just a bad attitude read this book over and over! My dad had me read this when I was newly married and 37 years later it has come to the rescue again. You will not be disappointed.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • October 16, 2016 at 8:58 am
    Permalink
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Incredible., August 3, 2015
    By 
    David

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
    This book is life changing. It is not the kind of book you read and suddenly you are happy (because I don’t think that really exists out in the world). This is the kind of book you read and use as a guide. You have to deliberately practice what Carnegie writes in order to truly feel better and “start living”. Although it was written in the 1940s, the book speaks timeless wisdom that can be applied anywhere today. I read this as a young male who loves the speed of technology, and even though I cannot put my attention into books often, this particular read grasped me, slowed me down, and brought me in. I encourage it to anyone who wants to change their life for the better.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • October 16, 2016 at 9:25 am
    Permalink
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Highly Recommended, August 12, 2015
    By 
    Core (Somerset,KY USA) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: How to Stop Worrying and Start Living (Mass Market Paperback)
    This book, in the inner cover it has a copyright of ‘1944’. As of today this book is 71 Years old. That’s crazy…
    None the less, 90 pages in, I have underlined quite a bit of the book as I make my way through it. I am using “How to stop worrying and start living” as a work book like the author suggested.
    Most of the advice, is golden if you don’t get too caught up in the context. And it seems that some particular advice is re-iterated in another way, to add emphasis. Then on top of this, the author interviewed a ton of people.. and from today’s point of view, some of the individuals that the author talked to.. are markers in history. They all did something profound.

    If your like myself, curious, and trying to improve your lot in life.. especially in today’s climate. Everywhere you turn there is a fear monger.. from our own government to, the local associated press. They are trying to sell you “fear” by the truck loads.. Nothing wrong with being informed of the dangers that exist, but it’s also very good to have the context of the situation, some hard numbers to go by. Other wise your imagination just runs off with you. And quite frankly I think that’s the whole point.

    What’s that famous quote by Rahm Emanuel.

    “You never let a serious crisis go to waste. And what I mean by that it’s an opportunity to do things you think you could not do before.”

    Source: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/r/rahm_emanuel.html

    Quote basically is getting at the fact, that you don’t think at all when your worrying.. your more likely to take action in the heat of the moment and do something stupid, or do something stupid and help someone else out..

    Anyways, the book offers a lot of sound basic advice. So if your like me and you didn’t get a well grounded common sense type of upbringing, no guidance really at all.. because your parents didn’t know any better.. and public school is definitely the kind of place you don’t get a well grounded common sense education.. this book is worth checking out. Because the truly smart person knows, that there is always something around the next corner, as far as little nuggets of wisdom go. Always something worth learning. Always ways to improve your odds.

    I’ll leave this review with one of my favorite quotes from the book:

    ‘I keep six honest serving-men
    (They taught me all I knew);
    Their names are What and Why and When
    And How and Where and Who.’ -Rudyard kipling

    If you find yourself overwhelmed by worry..your mind tends to drift toward the negatives too much. Check this out. Definitely worth the money.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Comments are closed.