The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety Reviews

The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety

The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety

Do you, or a loved one, struggle with Anxiety? Are you tired of feeling that you are at the mercy of your body, the experts, and situations that you can’t control? Do you feel that traditional advice leaves you feeling as though you are swimming against the tide?

In The Lion and the Peacock, Jennifer shares candidly about her life with Anxiety, Stress, and Panic Attacks. Using very simple analogies, Jennifer weaves a tale that helps to turn the complicated processes within the body an

Price:

Depressed and Anxious: The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Workbook for Overcoming Depression & Anxiety

Depressed and Anxious: The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Workbook for Overcoming Depression & Anxiety

As if coping with feelings of depression or anxiety by themselves weren’t difficult enough, clinical research suggests that as many as 60 percent of depression sufferers concurrently experience some kind of anxiety disorder. If you are in this group, it is quite common to simultaneously experience profound loss of energy and initiative along with substantial stress and anxiety. Caught between the push and pull of these two conditions, you might find that neither is easy even to recognize, much

List Price: $ 24.95

Price: $ 11.15

6 thoughts on “The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety Reviews

  • July 9, 2017 at 5:05 pm
    Permalink
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Jennifer shares her experience with acute anxiety attacks using the beautiful metaphor of the lion and the peacock, January 8, 2017
    By 
    Kyla S.

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety (Kindle Edition)
    It can be quite difficult to discuss our private struggles and demons with close friends, let alone publishing a book about it, exposing our fears and vulnerabilities to the world. Jennifer Peacock-Smith does just that with her powerful book, The Lion and the Peacock. This is a short but important read. Jennifer shares her experience with acute anxiety attacks using the beautiful metaphor of the lion and the peacock, which I will not spoil by attempting to explain here. She reveals the method that helped her successfully manage and reduce her own anxiety attacks so that others can apply the same techniques to help themselves. I don’t suffer from anxiety attacks personally, however, I’ve struggled with chronic depression since the age of thirteen. I applaud the author on her journey toward mental health and her bravery in sharing her deeply personal experience.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • July 9, 2017 at 5:17 pm
    Permalink
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Quick, Helpful Read, May 20, 2017
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety (Kindle Edition)
    If you suffer from anxiety, this will be a comforting read. Jennifer Peacock-Smith does a great job of validating what it is like to experience anxiety attacks and how crippling those feelings can be and then provides helpful strategies to help handle those situations.

    What readers will truly appreciate about this work is the tone that it takes. A lot of books on subjects such as this can come across as “preachy” with a list of to-dos for when anxiety strikes. The author of this book, however, not only acknowledges that there are many different ways that people deal with their anxiety, but provides more holistic measures in a more suggestive instead of prescriptive tone. The book was easy to read, flowed well and had some good pointers. There is even a workbook at the end if you want to try out some of the things she discusses! Overall, this is a useful resource for those who suffer from anxiety.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • July 9, 2017 at 6:09 pm
    Permalink
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    If anxiety rules your life, read this, February 26, 2017
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: The Lion and the Peacock: How I Conquered Anxiety (Kindle Edition)
    We’ve all experienced fear. But irrational, all consuming fear that hit you out of nowhere is extreme and debilitating. This memoir is an eye opening account of one woman’s battle with the panic attacks that had ruled her life. After exhausting all the traditional therapies, she took matters into her own hands to discover the mechanics of her attacks and what would work for her, personally, to dispel them.
    I found this book to be extremely well written and informative. I highly recommend it.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • July 9, 2017 at 6:42 pm
    Permalink
    9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Excellent and Helpful. I just wish it had more examples., March 25, 2015
    By 
    Mad Midwest Maggie (Southeastern, WI United States) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Depressed and Anxious: The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Workbook for Overcoming Depression & Anxiety (Paperback)
    Having read and been treated mostly with CBT previously, I am familiar with the parts of CBT that overlap with DBT, but I have to say that CBT wasn’t enough. I was resistant to what I understood of DBT because the clinical group settings used for those with Borderline Personality Disorder I felt would be too invalidating and unnecessarily structured for someone with PTSD, depression, and anxiety. I was also uncomfortable with what I understood is a Eastern religious tint to DBT. I’m glad that I didn’t let these concerns stop me from buying this book. I figured that if there were even just a few tools in it that were helpful, and that I had to ignore a lot of it, that I would still be better off. I’m using the book in conjunction with individual therapy. The book does a good job of explaining the conflicting feelings we have and how these conflicts are normal, among other things. I do with there were more examples before the exercises, because when a person is depressed it’s hard to think creatively enough to figure out how things apply to them. One example isn’t enough sometimes, so it’s taking longer to work through the book because it takes a long while to figure out how to apply things to me. It’s still extremely worth it.

    A couple people have complained that the book has dense terminology and isn’t accessible to average people. I’ve only had a semester of community college and have never worked in the psychiatric field and I have no trouble understanding this book. I think it’s worth a try for anyone with these feelings.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • July 9, 2017 at 7:35 pm
    Permalink
    8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    A hammer looking for a nail…, June 8, 2016
    By 
    Lewis Tagliaferre (Springfield, VA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    I give the writer credit for capsuling the skills of DBT in a self-help book…but therein lies the problem. DBT is based on learning and practicing many skills using handouts and worksheets, which can be too complex for a person in serious trouble to use without personal counseling. After working with DBT in therapy for more than a year I still feel depressed and anxious – dependent upon medications. DBT has been adopted by some therapists as a solution to many different psychology problems, this one dealing with depression and anxiety. The original work addressed clients diagnosed with borderline personality disorder who were suicidal by the admission of Dr. Marsha Linehan, its creator. Linehan admits to collecting ideas from many sources, including Zen Buddhism, so it really is not all that original. Since her original work published in 1993, DBT has become a hammer looking for a nail…and it does not always work for every need of suffering people. In this case, DBT may be somewhat helpful for mild forms of depression and anxiety caused by faulty interpretation of the environment or for temporary and mild personal problems – which also can be addressed with CBT and ACT therapy. So while this book does a reasonable job of describing DBT, the research claiming its effectiveness can all be explained with the placebo effect.
    I find that DBT falls short of dealing with the kind of issues that I face, being age 83 and widowed for 31 years, and sans all my friends, relatives and peers who have died or moved to assisted living, leaving me with the prospect of disability, humiliation, and social isolation plus diagnosed major depression with general anxiety disorder. The book barely mentions the need for medication in some cases, but does little beyond cognitive and behavioral changes which fall way short of my need, i.e., the existential consequences of aging and grief. Some things that are broken cannot be fixed…that is why there are cemeteries and junk yards. It seems to me that professional psychologists must find something to publish or perish and this is just one more such work that soon will be replaced with some other attempt to put Humpty Dumpty back together again.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  • July 9, 2017 at 7:48 pm
    Permalink
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    In my experience, the best self-help workbook I have ever read., July 9, 2014
    By 
    Laurence Galian (Cuernavaca, Mexico) –

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Depressed and Anxious: The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Workbook for Overcoming Depression & Anxiety (Paperback)
    I have read many self-help books and workbooks. Nothing has ever come close to being this engaging and helpful! I look forward to reading the text and doing the exercises. Can you imagine? Looking forward to work? Well, I do because the book makes sense, and the reader can understand why he or she is being asked to do these exercises. And these writing exercises are fascinating, while forcing you really examine your life. This is a deep book without being intimidating. It is highly readable and enjoyable to read. As one who has a great deal of experience reading self-help books and workbooks, I recommend this book above all the others.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Comments are closed.